Let the words of my mouth…

Be Face To Face

“Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.”  Psalm 19:14

This week I allowed frustration to get the best of me.  oh… let’s just be honest about it!  We are all friends here!! I totally blew it!  I allowed frustration to not only get the best of me, but to bubble up inside of me like a volcano and spew out of my mouth onto everything within striking distance!!!  (Which just happened to be my darling husband)! It really doesn’t matter what the circumstances surrounding my outburst were.  It doesn’t matter if I felt  “justified” or not.  I blew it.  Lost control.  Freaked out.  Plain and simple.

The Word instructs us to watch our mouths…  not just when it suits us, or only if we feel like it, or unless we are angry or justified.  Why? Why do we have to pay attention to what we say?  What does it matter? Why does God make this point over and over again in scripture? He must have a good reason.

“…I will guard my ways, Lest I sin with my tongue; I will restrain my mouth with a muzzle, While the wicked are before me.”  Psalm 39:1

“Set a guard, O LORD, over my mouth; Keep watch over the door of my lips.” Psalm 141:3

“If anyone thinks himself to be religious, and yet does not bridle his tongue but deceives his own heart, this man’s religion is worthless.” James 1:26 NASB

Words are just words, right?  Wrong!  Just ask my husband!  (poor baby).  Or better yet, ask my son’s fiancée.

Over the weekend my middle son became engaged.  He took his girlfriend to the Botanical Gardens, found the perfect spot near a waterfall, overlooking the beautiful gardens, got down on one knee and declared his heart.  His words painted her a picture of his devotion and love.  I know that those spoken words will forever be etched in my future daughter-in-law’s mind and heart. They were more than mere words.  They had the power to transform their relationship. Those words put a beautiful ring on her finger.   Those words are the building blocks to their future (and hopefully my future grandchildren!!  but, hey,  nooooo pressure.)

” The LORD has appeared of old to me, [saying]: “Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love; Therefore with loving kindness I have drawn you.” Jer 29:11

“I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine…. ”  Songs 7:10a

Words can heal or steal.  They can create or destroy.  They can be either life or they can be death to the hearer!   What affect do we want to have on the people around us?  TODAY, just this minute, choose how the words out of your mouth will affect those around you.  What if we purpose to bless the next person we speak to?  What if we decide to use our words to build up, encourage, support, release, forgive… you get the idea.

What do we do if we have wounded those around us with our words, whether intentionally or not?  The Bible instructs us to humble ourselves, (ask forgiveness with sincerity) turn away from that wickedness (Knock it OFF!)  and seek His Face (His teachings and instructions),  and THEN He will hear our prayers, forgive US and heal our land (our source of provision, our community, our dwelling..).

“…If My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.”  2 Chr 7:14

We have an awesome opportunity to learn from our mistakes when we obey God’s word and turn from the behaviors that hurt others and displease God.  Every mistake then becomes an opportunity to practice obedience and also an opportunity to grow in character.  Don’t beat your self up.  That’s just giving power to the destructive force itself!  Rather, refuse to be “that person” who goes through life inflicting pain on others! Make it right with those you have wounded.  I am so blessed that my husband and I have been practicing “quick repentance” for 30 years now.  We each strive to be the first one to apologize when we have an argument.  It doesn’t matter who was right or wrong.  We practice putting the other first.  It works for us.  And you know that even when we KNOW we are right, being right at the cost of the other persons feelings or at the cost of their self-respect is a very shallow, selfish victory.

“Finally, brothers, whatever is TRUE, whatever is NOBLE, whatever RIGHT, whatever is PURE, whatever is LOVELY, whatever is ADMIRABLE, if anything is EXCELLENT or PRAISEWORTHY– think about such things”.  Phil 4:8 NIV

You can be who you were created to be!  You can use your words to bring life to all those that you come into contact with, and to yourself in the process!  You can do it.

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Phil 4:13 

When God instructs us, we should listen, take heed, guard that word and clutch it tightly to our hearts.   God uses these words to comfort and assure us.  Let’s do the same for those that He places in our path today.

  ” For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb.  I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, and that my soul knows well.  My frame was not hidden from You, When I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.  Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed.  And in Your book they all were written, The days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them.  How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! how great is the sum of them!  If I should count them, they would be more in number than the sand; when I awake, I am still with You.” Psalm 139:13-18

“Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.”  Psalm 19:14

About bface2face

Hello! I am a slightly menopausal, mildly quirky, Californian turned Texan mother of 4 grown children. I have been married 30 years to the man of my dreams, Jeff. My heart is for sharing with others about God's passionate pursuit of His people, and His desire for us to walk in a Face to Face relationship with Him. I enjoy sharing via my blogs, and am guest blogging on several sites. Join me on my journey! My personal blog site: BFace2Face.wordpress.com You can also reach me on Facebook@ BFace2Face or tweet me @beFace2Face.
This entry was posted in Devotional, Faith, Inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Let the words of my mouth…

  1. backseatdiva says:

    Thanks again for hitting where it hurts, uh hmmm I mean motivating me to be better :0). Love you sooo much BFF!

  2. Julie says:

    Brenda, sitting with my coffee and having quiet time and I tell the Lord “I wish I could recall the address to Brenda’s blog” So, i read for a while and then choose to ck FB to see what people are up to..Poof! There in front of me was your invite to come check out your blog! LOL, God is good and I was so blessed by your sharing. It was like days of past when we were blessed to sit and share while having tea. Love ya! Again, blessed and challenged by your sharing. I appreciated what you shared about being “‘justified” or being right at the cost of others..selfish victory – ouchy good stuff to hear.

    • bface2face says:

      Julie, How wonderful to connect again! We did have great study sessions over tea and coffee didn’t we? And yes, it is painful when we are face to face with our own “stuff”. But taking courageous moral inventory is not for the weak of heart. Thank you for walking this journey with me. Blessings and much love!

  3. susan says:

    we can’t be reminded too often how powerful words are— their ability to build and tear down; to encourage and to shame; to bring truth and to aid in deception; to provoke to anger and to bring peace. thank you for sharing and reminding me to be accountable for what i speak.

    • bface2face says:

      Thank you so much Susan. I am anxiuos for you to start blogging. I would love to have access to some of your poetry. Let’s keep encouraging one another, and continue walking the path together. Love and blessings.

  4. Very nice post. Well put and very much motivating.

  5. Dolores Reyes says:

    Wow Brenda, well said . I am so guilty of those exact things . I was telling myself the other day ” well I have a right to be mad “, hmm giving my sistuation I probably do ? But that does not mean my words should reflect my maddness. . This has really ministered to me , because my tongue of all is something I have a hard time controlling . Some of your scriptures are scriptures the Lord shared with me . So I know what I need to be doing . Thanks for sharing , your blog is such a blessing .

    • bface2face says:

      Thanks Dolores. You and Romero have an inspiring story to tell. And as you both walk it out for the world to see, many, many people will be blessed. I appreciate your honesty about the struggles involved in bridling the tongue. It’s not that we are never going to blow it or fail, but rather that we are purposing to continue walking the walk! His Paths are Holy! James 1 tells us to count it all joy when we encounter trials, because the testing of your faith produces endurance. We need to stay humble, walk in forgiveness and quickly repent! So glad to not be on this journey alone. Aren’t you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

