Optically Challenged

Optically Challenged

“Optically Challenged”

I recently took the vision improvement challenge and purchased multi-focus contacts. You know the kind that allow you to see distance while being able to also read close up. What a concept! I was so excited. What kind of crazy techno world do we live in where I don’t have to put on reading glasses or wear coke bottle bifocals??? My optometrist popped them in and told me that I would be able to see perfectly in about 2 weeks. It would take my brain that long to figure out when to use the close up vision aid and when to use the far away. So as I left his office, my brain was in a mild state of confusion. I had just a quick thought that it might have been a better idea to have a non-brain-confused person negotiating my 4 wheel drive truck through tight spaced parking lots, narrow side streets and rush hour freeway traffic. It was just a quick thought because I needed all my confused brain cells to figure out which lane I was driving in and what those large fuzzy objects approaching me at breakneck speed were. I ran over a few curbs, parked using several spaces. I wasn’t able to “see” the expressions on the faces of the drivers I passed while doing my best impression of a sighted driver, but I was able to “perceive” that I needed to get visual clarity before taking a road trip. Two weeks came and went. Still no change. I was able to see far off but not able to see anything close up. And I don’t mean kind-of not see. I mean even with reading glasses I couldn’t text. (to all of you who received garbled messages from me, I apologize!) I went back to the eye doctor and he refit me with another brand that should be better for me. He also recommended eye drops for keeping my contacts moist. These 2 weeks that I am adjusting to the new lenses have been much better. Sure, I still take up two parking spots, and occasionally I run over the odd curb or two, but who doesn’t? Though, I believe there should be a warning label on the eye drops to prevent people from applying while driving. Anyway, I really am appreciating the clarity I get with the drops and my new contacts. My focus is sharp and clear. Never better.

“FOCUS”

The Commandment of the LORD is pure; enlightening the eyes

In my day-to-day routine, I am becoming accustomed to seeing clearly, but occasionally, I realize that things are out of focus again. It is so easy to forget the eye drops. Result: dry itching eyes, blurred vision, eye soreness and discomfort.

How much more do we need to apply the Water of the Word of God to our daily lives, so that we can see and perceive with clarity. How much more is it essential that we are “fitted” properly with the visual aids that allow us to see accurately and clearly. If we live our lives outside the truth and reality of HIS Divine Nature, outside what His Word states to be the right way, what we see and what we perceive is merely a blurry vision of the truth. Our “sight” will become blurry, our “eyes” irritated, uncomfortable. We will lose the ability to differentiate between what is true and what is false. We will end up taking up the wrong “parking spot” or running over things that we have no business even being near! We won’t be able to heed the signs that warn us away from danger, or even see the signals that will lead us toward the right roads.

“The law of the LORD is perfect, converting the soul;

The testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple; The statutes of the LORD are right, rejoicing the heart; The commandment of the LORD is pure, enlightening the eyes; The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring forever. The judgements of the LORD are true and righteous all together. More to be desired are they than gold, Yea, than much fine gold; Sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb. Moreover by them Your servant is warned, And in keeping them there is great reward. Who can understand his errors? Cleanse me from secret faults. Keep back Your servant also from presumptuous sins; Let them not have dominion over me. Then I shall be blameless, And I shall be innocent of great transgression. Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart Be acceptable in Your sight, O LORD, my strength and my Redeemer”. Psalm 19: 7-14  NKJV

This week I have learned a very valuable lesson on visual clarity. I want to live my life in such a way that I will be able to see and focus on what is important. I want to saturate myself in the truth of the Word of God so that my vision is clear and my sight is focused. And I want to remember to add the eye drops when things start getting out of focus!

Till next time, Be Face to Face!!!!

About bface2face

Hello! I am a slightly menopausal, mildly quirky, Californian turned Texan mother of 4 grown children. I have been married 30 years to the man of my dreams, Jeff. My heart is for sharing with others about God's passionate pursuit of His people, and His desire for us to walk in a Face to Face relationship with Him. I enjoy sharing via my blogs, and am guest blogging on several sites. Join me on my journey! My personal blog site: BFace2Face.wordpress.com You can also reach me on Facebook@ BFace2Face or tweet me @beFace2Face.
This entry was posted in Devotional, Faith, Inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Optically Challenged

  1. backseatdiva says:

    Mrs. Magoo!!!!! I was laughing so hard because we are so the same! like me sitting in the parking lot with dislocated rib trying to,figure out how to get car out without moving my upper body. We definately need to get rich and famous so,we can have drivers.

Leave a Reply

