Tea be or Not Tea Be, a caffeinated adventure.

tea cupThis morning I began my usual routine of  rolling out of bed, clumsily and blindly making my way to the kitchen, filling my small pot with water and putting it on high heat.  I usually wait for the water to boil, brew my sccalding hot tea, then sit down and enjoy the fragrance and flavor and quiet while my blurry thoughts begin to focus.  I do this pretty much every morning.  The same thing.  It works.  As I sip my tea, my head clears and I can begin my day.  But this morning, I had an even more brilliant idea!  If I heated my water in a larger pan, it would boil twice as fast and I could be enjoying my perfect cup of tea in half the time.  So I grabbed my sauce pot, poured a cup worth of water into it and set it on the stove.  True to my logic, the water boiled in half the time and I was sitting in my chair holding my tea in mere moments!  Sometimes I scare myself… I mean, really! What a great idea. I should have thought of this earlier. If I had an electric-auto-timed tea-pot that instinctively knew what time I was arising each morning and boiled my water accordingly, I probably would have.  But this morning, I was pleased just to be sitting, enjoying the anticipation of that first sip of the perfect cup of tea.

Slurp!  Egads!  What in the world????

My tea had the distinct aroma and taste of oregano, basil, garlic and tomato!  Not the rich, robust blend of perfectly picked black tea leaves I was expecting for my morning ritual! My serenity was shattered!  It was an affront to my quasi-british-irish-by-way-of-california-and-Texas roots!

Swill! Poison! Blech!

As I pondered returning to the kitchen, I reflected on my situation.  While the idea of getting to my state of tea-nirvana in a rapid fashion was truly and understandably a brilliant idea, skipping a thorough examination of my preparation process was not.  Now I know you are probably thinking, “Poor, Poor Woman.  She wasn’t in her right mind. No wonder she blundered.  She just needed a good cup of tea before all her neurons were firing. Give her a break.”  My thoughts exactly. Well, not really, but if I would have thought that at the moment, I would have heartily agreed.  In reality, All I could think was, “do I have the energy to re-make a cup of tea, or should I just drink this hot sludge and call it even?”

So now I sit here, at my computer, tea-less and waging an internal war, pitting the splendor of perfectly brewed tea against (gasp!) the ideas of digressing to my earlier and less loved brewed coffee, inventing a mind controlled electric tea-pot, returning to my longer though nearly fool proof routine of making tea in my little pot, or re-evaluating my dish washing techniques?  My mind is tea-less and uninspired.  I am not  capable of making such life altering decisions in my current state of being. Which begs the question:  why? why me?  Why today?

These are the things we think, and do.  But ultimately all our little musings must lead us to a bigger and brighter world, mustn’t they?  My world is made just a bit brighter each day that I live wherein the perfect cup of tea does not elude me.  For you, it may be the blessed brew, or the Starbucks drive thru, maybe a french press of dark roast, or the frosted glass of orange juice.  What ever it is, I implore you!  Find your way back to that place of perfection and do NOT deviate! For the love of all that is good and decent in this crazy world! Do not deviate, my friends!  Stay the course!   The alternative has a price too costly to bear.

I am brewing a fresh cup of tea now.  Blessings to y’all and remember to Be Face to Face!

Blessed be the name of the LORD from this time forth and forevermore!  Psalm 113:2

About bface2face

Hello! I am a slightly menopausal, mildly quirky, Californian turned Texan mother of 4 grown children. I have been married 30 years to the man of my dreams, Jeff. My heart is for sharing with others about God's passionate pursuit of His people, and His desire for us to walk in a Face to Face relationship with Him. I enjoy sharing via my blogs, and am guest blogging on several sites. Join me on my journey! My personal blog site: BFace2Face.wordpress.com You can also reach me on Facebook@ BFace2Face or tweet me @beFace2Face.
This entry was posted in Humor, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tea be or Not Tea Be, a caffeinated adventure.

  1. Charity says:

    Funny! This reminded me of the morning I poured my husband’s liquid eggs in his coffee as opposed to creamer- needless to say neither of us had our caffeine yet.

    We both have recently switched to drinking tea and he even gave me a great little kettle for Christmas. I have found that putting less water in it seems to speed up the process- as I too am often looking for the “faster way” to do things.  But truth be told sometimes faster is NOT better- especially if it tastes like oregano, basil, tomato, and garlic tea!  

    Sounds about as awful as my mussel, salmon, garlic and tomato spaghetti sauce- which I unexpectedly prepared while rushing through dinner preparation.  I did not thoroughly examine my saucepan that I had used the night before  to prepare mussels and salmon before adding ground beef and my spaghetti  sauce fixins. Evidently I had not cleaned it out as great as I thought I had. Made me realize the importance of thoroughly cleaning and examining my pans- and also made me consider how importnant it is to thoroughly clean and examine my heart. Some flavors are better washed away 😉

    • bface2face says:

      Ha ha!! That’s so funny! Eggs in the coffee. Salmon and mussels even worse! You could NEVER be prepared for that! Comical PS to this story- i was fed up and hit the shower- tealess. When I came out my hubby had made me a hot cuppa tea! Such a sweet guy! I took a deep drink.. Yep.. You guessed it! He had just reheated the basil, oregano, tomato concoction! He thought he reheated a fresh tea!

      I have come to the conclusion that I need better lighting in every room of my house, every cabinet, every drawer, inside my closets and most definitely inside all my purses! Or I could just get contacts that actually let me SEE objects closer than 3 feet! Ha!

  2. Wanda Larcon says:

    Sitting here having tea with you Love you

    ________________________________

    • bface2face says:

      Thanks! Wishing we were drinking tea together… Just not the Oregano, Basil, Garlic, Tomato tea from this morning! Just after I blogged this, I took a shower and Jeff, being the wonderful husband that he is, made me a cup of tea to drink when I came out. I took one sip and started laughing! He had reheated the Contaminated tea!!! Life is good!

Leave a Reply

