Patience is a virtue? My pre-caffeinated morning musings

Your Word I have hidden in my heart, That I might not sin against You. Ps 119:11

“But if we hope for that we see not, then do we with patience wait for it.” Romans 8:25

Today I am learning patience.

I know, I know… It’s a super scary thought. When we think about “learning” patience, we think of God causing situations in our lives that require us to wait, and wait and wait some more. I let God have the morning off today, and just took care of the patience-learning scenario my self.  You will see what I mean.  I did the whole, “Hey Lord, I got this!”

Cuz ya know, it always works out best when we humans take charge and give the Almighty God, The Creator of the Heavens and Earth a time out.   Right?

Some of my best life lessons have been learned while interacting with my tea/coffee obsession and also during times when I was totally and completely clueless. Both are not mutually exclusive!

This morning was no exception

Chatting and drinking coffee with my hubby before he leaves for work, is how I love my morning routine to start.  30 minutes of coffee, chat, laughter and then off he goes!  So, this morning, having been thoroughly rejuvenated with  the initial cups of my most divine obsession (ie: Louisiana chicory/coffee blend), but sensing that I had not nearly reached my bliss-filled-caffeine-saturation state yet,  I decided to switch over to my equally divine and highly-favored British Tea blend. (I try to give them both equal time to avoid any rivalry.)

After all, I had a full day planned, and with God getting the day off and all, I thought I had better dig in and get some major things accomplished! 

I set my teapot on the stove, and puttered around my kitchen, straightening this and that, waiting for the water to boil.

I put away some dishes that had been left to dry, wiped the counters,
still no bubbling water…
polished my sink with Windex and a soft, dry cloth and ….
still waiting….
I am learning patience.. on my own…
Some days are harder than others, but I got this…
today patience isn’t coming quickly enough…
it’s causing butterflies in my tummy…
and a mild acid like feeling….
I’m not hearing the whistle yet….
acid is now churning full force…
another walk around the kitchen and living room….
breathe…. just … breathe….
More straightening and pillow fluffing…
still waiting… still pacing… still churning…
patience is so over rated!

OH, WHY ME? …WHY ME?… WHY ME? …WHY????????

UH Oh.

I guess I forgot to turn the burner on.

grrrrrrrrrrrr

 it’s just not the same when you give God the day off…
Uh, LORD? Can I get a Do-Over?

“But let patience have [her] perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.” James 1:4

About bface2face

Hello! I am a slightly menopausal, mildly quirky, Californian turned Texan mother of 4 grown children. I have been married 30 years to the man of my dreams, Jeff. My heart is for sharing with others about God's passionate pursuit of His people, and His desire for us to walk in a Face to Face relationship with Him. I enjoy sharing via my blogs, and am guest blogging on several sites. Join me on my journey! My personal blog site: BFace2Face.wordpress.com You can also reach me on Facebook@ BFace2Face or tweet me @beFace2Face.
This entry was posted in Devotional, Faith, Humor, Inspiration, love, Middle aged women, Pre-caffeinated morning musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Patience is a virtue? My pre-caffeinated morning musings

  1. backseatdiva says:

    Can’t stop smiling!

Leave a Reply

